The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 44

User Info Menu

First off I apologize for all the questions I've been asking since I joined. After a 10 year + hiatus from playing so many things have changed. I feel like I'm starting all over again.,There is such a great amount of collective knowledge in these forums I'm awestruck and learning an awful. So firstly thank you to all that have helped me out. And second thanks for being so kind to the new kid on the block. I really feel welcome here. If I could buy you all a drink of your choice I would! Thank you! This will be the last question for a bit.

I have a chance to buy a late 70s Lab Series L5. I think BB King used them for awhile. Anyone using one for jazz? Thoughts and opinions on them most welcome! I hear parts are getting hard to find. I'm an electrical engineer so that doesn't concern me a ton.

Love to hear what you experts think. Thanks again!

Sent from my XT1635-02 using Tapatalk

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

It's a solid state amp loosely based on a Twin Reverb, so with built in spring reverb and even a built in compressor/limiter.

I used to play in a venue that had one as the house amp and I managed to get good tones ou of it. Borrowed one once for a soul-gig. And one of my guitar teachers used one and I plugged in for lessons.

In my memory it's a good amp with plenty of power and volume that produces decent cleans, certainly suitable for jazz that didn't strike me as particularly sweet or great sounding, but I had no trouble getting a good tone. As opposed to some amps that I come across and have a better name: Blues JR, Roland Jazz Chorus and Fender FM-series come to mind. I always struggle to get a good tone on those amps, so the Lab beats those easily imho.

User Info Menu