The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 20 of 20

User Info Menu

I am planning to get a carved top, or fully carved acoustic archtop, the plan to play acoustically (not on gigs).

I really wonder the sound. I am left handed so I have no chance to just walk on to a big store then try and compare models.

Is the sound of those Loar models suitable for bebop when playing solo lines? Currently I have and Epi Joe Pass, and a D'Angelico EXL-1, they are cool on bebop, but both of them are laminated. I really would like to try a carved, and those Loars seems to be affordable. Well, Bendetto or even Eastman do not play now.

Any opinion about bebop lines on 300, 600, 700?

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Disclaimer: I am very new to my Loar LH700, and have tried only once to play more modern jazz on it. I am no bebopper either (not yet).

To my mind, buying an acoustic archtop like a Loar is for playing swing or at most early bop (say: Remo Palmieri playing Groovin’ High with Dizzy). You buy it so you can have that great acoustic sound for 4-to-bar (Freddie Green chods) and block-chord melody on the upper strings; then you put on a pickup so you can also access those lovely electric sounds for single-line soloing Charlie Christian style. For that application, it’s a great solution and quite possibly the best one (short of buying a true vintage carved top guitar).

As I said, I tried it just once for playing more modern jazz, with faster runs and different chordal style (workshop: we played “Hot House” and later “Totem Pole”). I loved the sound (Raney, Kessel, Palmieri…) but I found it quite a bit harder than on my tele. The action and string size required to have a good acoustic tone get in the way. The V-shaped neck – which is fantastic for playing Freddie Green Chords – is not terribly comfortable for playing e.g. barre chords. And you have less upper-frets access than on a cutaway guitar.