The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 2 of 16 FirstFirst 123412 ... LastLast
Posts 26 to 50 of 395

User Info Menu

Even moving up to .11's will make a big difference. I put D'Daddario XL .11's on my Gibson SG and it has a very smooth, warm sound when EQ'd properly. Good luck!

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

I also use 13 gauge flats on my Heritage LP style solid body and like 'em a lot. I find that the tension from 12's on the longer scale Strat sort of balances things out. The neck should accommodate 13's, though, as they were pretty much the norm when it was invented!
    If, by the way, I can get near enough to the Tele-Jazz sound on my Strat by experimentation and (some) modding, I'll be happy enough as I prefer its body contour to a Tele's. I have my doubts.
    Last edited by Peter C; 09-20-2008 at 08:16 AM.

User Info Menu

Kobrian,
    I am not a pro but,... you may find this useful:
    - the sound you get is, by all means, something which is gear related ... strings, amps, the very instrument;
    - the tone you get is almost entirely dependent on your playing technique,... your habits, your muscular memory banks, etc.
    By the by, my only electric guitar is strung with .11 gauge roundwounds, complemented with a rather thick (.54) flatwound 6th string ... you may try going the Johnny Smith route.

User Info Menu

Besides what everyone is saying about strings and what not, you can also really get a sweet jazz tone by throwing a Seymour Duncan Little 59 'humbucker' in the neck. I really swear by it if you are using something single coiled size. Not only is it a humbucker technically, it just has this super buttery edge that you really have to hear to believe. It is unlike anything I have heard on a strat, and you don't have to rely solely on thick strings and rolling off treble to get the sound. Highly recommended.