The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 4 of 16 FirstFirst ... 2345614 ... LastLast
Posts 76 to 100 of 395

User Info Menu

The Strat can do,and can do it good,I have one from the 80's...
    but i prefere this baby,when it comes to solid bodies "jazzin' around"

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Since I started playing again I have had no use for strats. I have tried quite a few and just cant get jazz vibe that inspires me. My own strat (a 76 Ibanez challenger actually) sat in pieced for years while I tried to find the time to refin/refret the neck. Finially finished it up and replaced the stock pickups with SD ssl-2 pickups. I couldnt believe a) how much nicer it is than any other strat I have played. Light and resonant. The new pickups actually make the whole thing usable. It still just sits in the case because it is not the best tool for the job but in a pinch it will do.

I love Carls playing on the link above but tone wise I feel.. meh.

User Info Menu

This guy has a nice sound and playing. Here he explains the jazz tone he obtains with his Am std strato.

User Info Menu

While I'm not a huge fan of Smooth or Fusion, I do occasionally dig that style of playing in the Loeb link. A relaxing "city-at-night" feel to it.

Rexi, wow man, love your playing! Back then I was debating Little 59 or CR, and went with the 59 on a coin toss pretty much. Sounds like the CR is beautifully mellow. The 59 didn't so much mellow the sound of the Strat as it warmed and fattened it up.

Even though I later switched to 175 style Archies as the jazz weapon of choice, I always like to have at least one Fender around, for their unique personality and history if nothing else. Incredibly versatile guits for something so simple.

User Info Menu

The strat played in the JHJS videos seems to have a neck pickup with a bar instead of individual polepieces.
    Last edited by gcb; 01-05-2013 at 09:46 AM. Reason: error

User Info Menu