The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 30

User Info Menu

Hello everyone,

I am just starting out on jazz guitar - this is my first post seeking guidance/suggestions regarding my 70s Gibson ES-175D. I bought this guitar without pickups for a great price and it is in excellent condition, no cracks, straight neck, little fret wear, nice low action. Can anyone tell me if the 57 classic pickups would be a good choice for that traditional warm, round and mellow tone it is known for?

As I said, I am new to jazz guitar and do not know much about pickup choices like all you pros do. Any input would be appreciated.

Thanks,

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

For a L-O-N-G time 57 classics were standard, so if you want it to be current sounding, you can't go wrong there. Some are now coming with MHS pups (like the 2016 - 1959) and since AFAIK Gibson is not selling the MHS separately your best bet is the 59's to make it current.

Then again, this may be an opportunity for you to play around with it. There are many offerings to try, but one I personally would stay away from is the SD "Jazz" it's known to not be anything like a Jazz player would use.

OH, we're NOT all pros :-)
    Last edited by GNAPPI; 09-29-2017 at 11:26 AM.

User Info Menu

Welcome to the forum LatinJazz...
    Where are you located, what country ??
    Yes the Classic 57 would be a good choice, so would a Duncan Seth Lover, or a Lollar low wind. Other guys have other favorites. I like the Duncan Seth Lovers because you can get them with gold covers for about $105.00 on eBay. They nail that classic PAF tone about as good as anyone else since Seth Lover designed the original PAF for Gibson waaaay back. Others will differ, but show us some photos of the guitar just to keep things flowing.

Again, welcome to the forum

BigMike

User Info Menu