The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 51

User Info Menu

I started playing with a tortex 050 today and was surprised at how easy it was to play with compared to my usual thick, "jazz" plecs.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

used to use 1.5 but fatter sound w/2.0

User Info Menu

1.5 for me. I like Dunlop's "Delrin" material. Thinner and I find that the sound is too thin, thicker slows me down.

User Info Menu

What I like for practice seems to be totally different to what I like for gigs.... Anyone else find this?

User Info Menu

I only started playing with a plectrum a month or so ago. I've acquired and tested a fair number of them in recent days.
    So far, my favorite is the 1.5mm Pro Plec. I'm happy with the standard teardrop shape at this point, but I could see moving toward a smaller "jazz" shape if my ring finger drops out of the equation in the future.

Regarding gigs vs practice, I'm practicing the heck out of the plec, but my next gig I'll probably chicken out and go back to fingerstyle. (but I'm sure I'll have a pick or two in my pocket)

User Info Menu

i go from super thin dunlop .38 nylon to big thick stubby type picks...some made of seashell or horn...and everything in between...

depends on the application..each imparts a different flavor..changes the attack tone ever so slightly, and even the way (and where) you pick..ie. right hand technique

your sound chain begins with the pick...so pick wisely! haha

cheers

User Info Menu

I use a Golden Gate mandolin pick. Large and rather thick. But, the material is kind of soft and it produces a mellow sound.

User Info Menu