The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234
Posts 76 to 91 of 91

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by Oneofthe
    I currently have a Roland Blues Cube, can anyone please offer thoughts on that?

I'm new to Jazz and my Blues Cube may not be ideal for my Epiphone ES 175

Thanks.
    What model is your Blues Cube? I have a BC Stage and, besides light and bedroom-friendly, it's capable of great cleans. A couple examples:

Last edited by Fidelcaster; 03-24-2017 at 06:18 AM.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Blues Cube as heavy as a Fender Princeton Reverb (15kg). Which may be light or heavy depending on whether you schlepp gear on public transport and/or live in a top floor flat...

But Roland... Yes. I actually really like Roland amps, even the cheapo Cubes sound pretty good, and I think the JC series are great for jazzers. But JC-40 is still as heavy as a blues cube!

I play a regular gig where it's a bit tricky to set up a guitar amp, so I just plug into a Roland keys amp. Apart from the lack of reverb (which I don't mind so much for swing & straightahead) it sounds good. But those things weigh a ton!

So Roland - great amps, but not the lightest.

User Info Menu

My BC Stage weighs 14kg, the smaller (and different sounding) BC Hot is lighter, and the bigger BC Artist models (1x12" or 2X12") are of course heavier.
    Last edited by Fidelcaster; 03-24-2017 at 06:42 AM.

User Info Menu

It's a shame DV Mark don't seem to have their shit together so much with the Little Jazz.

Mark bass amps are practically industry standard.

Has anyone played the DV Mark head? You could pair it with a lightweight cab?

Other options (with my comments if I've tried them)

- Matrix Elements Vintage British 800
    - Vox MV30 Clean (nice idea if it works and cheap)
    - BluGuitar AMP1 - great gain sounds, clean sounds very lacklustre