The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 135

User Info Menu

i like Ed Bickert's sound. i saw a video of him playing a tele with a humbucker. i wonder if it was stock?

I'd like opinions on which pickup everyone likes on his Telecaster?

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

I'm no expert on Ed's gear but I'm pretty sure it's just an old Gibson Humbucker. I would think a Classic 57 would sound good.

User Info Menu

I agree, but Ed sounded great before, with the stock neck pickup, too.

My ideal would be to choose a favourite single coil and humbucker and mount them both near the neck, and lose the bridge pickup.

User Info Menu

you're right jasonc, you can't go wrong with the classic 57. i heard the lollar, and am considering it, just trying to get a different sound. of course it will be different on a tele. and BigDLH, i love your idea, i have often thought of doing that. do you know any guitar that comes like that? i would do single coil closest to neck then humbucker.

User Info Menu

I think Bicket's tele pre-dates Fender putting humbuckers on anything. Also back then there wasn't a million versions of pickups, you bought whatever replacement pickups Gibson sold or got a used one from a thrashed guitar.

You might want to try one of the strat sized humbuckers they sound good and you don't have to route the body to try a humbucker.

User Info Menu

Some 3 pickup Teles.

James Burton:

J5 Triple Tele Deluxe:

Blackout Tele:

Nashville:

User Info Menu

Modern Player Tele Plus:

Squier Joe Trohman:

User Info Menu