The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 15 of 15

User Info Menu

Do you prefer 12's or 13's (string gauge) If the action is set for easy fingering and you don't do any bending why would you choose one over the other? Do you hear much difference in tone between the two? When I play acoustic dreadnought I really like '013's better for more volume and bass. Therefore I naturally put 13's on my jazzbox when I started learning jazz. Just curious what you other guys think.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

I find that each of my guitars likes certain gauges of strings.

My carvetop, for example, came with D'Addario Chromes .012. I've used those, various .012s and then went up to .013s. It didn't like those, seemed to choke the sound. I tried .011s for a while and that was OK but lacked something. Now I have TI BB 13s on there and it really seems to like thise.

My Ibanez GB10, though, doesn't like the TI BB .013s. It likes Pyramid pure nickle rounds in .011.

Too light and the string doesn't activate the guitar enough; too heavy and it chokes the sound (too much pressure on the top, I think). This seems to matter more with archtops, my Teles seem to care a lot less.

User Info Menu

It is simply personal preference and that will change just as your playing style and skills evolve. Only one way to find out what your preference is.

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by Cunamara
    I find that each of my guitars likes certain gauges of strings.

My carvetop, for example, came with D'Addario Chromes .012. I've used those, various .012s and then went up to .013s. It didn't like those, seemed to choke the sound. I tried .011s for a while and that was OK but lacked something. Now I have TI BB 13s on there and it really seems to like thise.

My Ibanez GB10, though, doesn't like the TI BB .013s. It likes Pyramid pure nickle rounds in .011.