The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 103

User Info Menu

I have been playing guitar for several years but recently started playing jazz.

I want to buy a new guitar specifically for jazz and O like a nice warm/mid tone.

The two guitars I have in mind are the Ibanez LGB30 (George Benson cheapest signature) and the Guild A-150 Savoy to be played through a Fender Princeton.

I'd appreciate any advice as to which might be best. Thanks!

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

I'm in a very similar boat to you. I think about buying a new guitar and amp every day. I've had the same rig since high school, a les paul and a Marshall AVT-100, definitely not a typical "jazz rig". I've been subconsciously putting off investing in a jazz rig for a few reasons:

1. More time understanding my rig and the various tones available at my disposal. I don't mean an hour or two, I mean months. I recall Barney Kessel stating in his book, The Guitar, that hollow bodies are more "personal" with their warm tones which I can understand but I think the nuanced inflections available from a solid body provide you with a different set of tools to add personality to your playing. I'm still working on that idea and I think it's paying off for my playing.

2. More time to research guitars. There are so many out there and I'm a buy once cry once kind of guy. I know the guitar has to have a few things going for it like playability, beauty, character and value.

3. More time playing and learning in general. Who knows, maybe in the next year you find a jazz guitarist you haven't heard of that dramatically influences your style. I found out about Tal Farlow, saw one of his guitars and automatically thought, "I want."

4. Less money wasted on bad decisions.

At any rate, those are my thoughts.
    Last edited by Thecytochromec; 08-13-2015 at 03:10 PM.

User Info Menu