The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 18 of 18

User Info Menu

I recently bought one of these and it is a terrific amplifier. My guitarist (I currently play bass) has plugged his Gibsons (ES-225 with aftermarket P90s, stock '79 trapeze ES-335) and they kill. Very responsive and lively, with snap and compression with a heavier pick attack. I love Fender amps -- I have a Jazzmaster Ultralight and a Deluxe Reverb reissue head/Weber California Ceramic 15 cabinet and a '65 Bassman head on loan from RandyC -- but this one is the leader of the pack. All it lacks is built-in reverb, but I have addressed that with a Boss Fender '63 Reverb pedal.

And it's good looking. Who decreed that everything has to be black? Ever crawl around on a dark stage looking for the black-on-black input labels with a flashlight?

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

I owned a '59 Bassman RI and I've kicked myself for years that I sold it. To help control the bottom end boominess, put a solid state rectifier in. Also, get a good quality, balanced NOS 12AT7 for the phase inverter slot.

User Info Menu

I agree!! Went thru several Fenders combos until the '59 Bassman RI Ltd. Love the sound of the 4X10's
    All good things must pass, so when a VibroKing was on sale at an extremely good price, the Bassman was replaced....lol
    All b'cos of the '63 verb, vibrato and its PTP/handwired. Its a ruddy heavy beast.
    Last edited by Deng; 10-23-2014 at 04:11 PM.

User Info Menu

You hit the jackpot. I have owned the reissue (gave it to my son), and I have built a few myself. The 5f6a Fender Bassman amplifier is "the king." Almost anything any of the other Fender amps can do ('cept tremelo) it can do better. I use a Fender Reverb Unit, so I have that end of things covered. Hang on to your LTD. Great amp.

User Info Menu