The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 18 of 18

User Info Menu

I'm primarily a steel string fingerstyle player, but I dabble in some jazz.

I'm not aware of any jazz players that use a steel string acoustic guitar as their main instrument. Or even a backup instrument.

For inspiration and curiosity, can anyone recommend jazz players that use a steel string acoustic?

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Ralph Towner on acoustic 12 string and classical guitar would be a good choice. Could someone put up a good you tube video? I'm not too good at computers.

User Info Menu

One Mr Beaumont...

User Info Menu

Eric Skye

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by Rob MacKillop
    One Mr Beaumont...
    Hey, that's me!

A lot of the modern guys are using them for different things...maybe not a main instrument, but mike moreno plays a lot of flattop (some old gibson) jon kreisberg played a collings, now an indian hill I think (check out night songs, beautiful flattop tones on several tunes) metheny will play anything with strings, john abercrombie's done flattop jazz, even kenny burrell (somebody will post the video, I'm sire)

Definiyely check out Eric Skye though...as a "fingerstyle" player, that will be right up your alley.

User Info Menu

Although some may argue that he is not "jazz", Tommy Emmanuel. His recording with Martin Taylor wonderful.
    Also, if you are willing to accept that a Gypsy Jazz Guitar is a steel string acoustic, I could fill a page but will start with Bireli Lagrene and let the chips fall where they may.

User Info Menu

User Info Menu

As mentioned, Kreisberg's Nightsongs has some beautiful acoustic on it. Leo Amuedo has a scattering of recordings with Ivan Lins and Trijntje Oosterhuis where he uses a steel string, but more often a nylon or semi hollow electric. Nightsongs is a marvelous and inventive album, beautiful stuff.

User Info Menu