The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 26

User Info Menu

I subscribed to different guitar/jazz forums and I could never find a topic about the pickups.
    However the pickups are so important to get that jazzy sound we all like so much ! And they are loads of them...

So tell us which pickups you use or you'd like to use...

I'm using Gibson 57 Classic and 57 Classic Plus...and I really enjoy their sound but I'm thinking about getting Benedetto pickups.

What about you ?

PS: sorry about my English. I'm still learning it.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

well, i guess it really comes down to what kind of jazz you're gonna play with them.

User Info Menu

What guitar are you using, Gibson uses the 57 classic in all of its high end arch top guitars, i have a few gibson's with the 57's and i like their tone, and versatility for jazz, blues rock etc.

Which guitar are you evaluating for new pickups.

peace

User Info Menu

I have an old pair of Ibanez super 58's in one of my guitars bought off eBay; If anyone ever wants some decent humbuckers these are the ones you want (i believe mr Scofield still has them in his lovely AS Ibanez).
    I recently bought a D'Angelico doublecut equipped with Kent Armstrongs apparently, sounding pretty lush, however the subtle gold finish on them is both fading and corroding; anyone know a cure to that (tried polishing)
    However singlecoils shouldn't be underrated, Bill Frisell can get a fatter sound out of a singlecoil with no treble trim than most players can on a humbucker with the tin turned down - cos when it gets down to it you have to understand that fingers are even more important.

User Info Menu

i'm looking into a gibson sg with a 490R in the neck position and a 498T in the bridge position. when i buy it should i change the pickups? and what kind of humbuckers would be best? any ideas?

User Info Menu