The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
Posts 26 to 50 of 106

User Info Menu

Squier Telecaster, "Affinity" level, made in China cheapo. THE loudest, most in-yo'-face rock'n'roll pickups I have ever heard. Kept in open G for Instant Keef applications, but also produces fairly fiery country/blues/r'n'b tones.

I was in a studio helping out on a demo and the soundguy pityingly asked me if I wanted to use his Fender instead before hearing it. After I'd done the track, he asked me how much I wanted for it.

Cost me £80 second hand. For that money, I kept it and will use it for all my non-Jazz stuff.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by ooglybong
    Nice. Kinda like fire and ice. huh?
    I imagine that they now sound rather different with that CC pickup onboard, huh? I've never tried one before. What brand is it?
    It's a Vintage Vibe CC rider by Pete Biltoft. Do a search on the gizmo section of this forum. A lot of guys here have these. You can swap out the magnets really easily. A great pickup indeed.

Vintage Vibe Guitars

User Info Menu

Epiphone ES175 copy for £300 notes. Nice beefy tone which compares well with a pupils Herb Ellis model for jazz.
    Also a very old Ibanez AS50 for £500 which is a keeper as the neck is nice and wide for my dinnerplate hands

User Info Menu

I found a Korean Squier Strat at a flea market, white, used and bumped around. It had a very nice neck, and resonance!!!

A gig bag and the guitar for $75.00. I went home to get a battery powered amp to test it. Before leaving the house, I plugged in my CS Thinline Strat to get a basic sound reading.

At the flea mkt. I plugged in the Squier. All p/ups worked, no shorts. The sound was as good as my CS Strat's.

I offered the guy $60. He said, "c'mon now, I gotta make a living". I said, " it's scratched, dinged, and needs frets".

He said, "$70 with bag and a strap". I said OK