The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 38

User Info Menu

okay, in the interest of the only stupid question is the one not asked...and the fact I'm a guitar newb

all my guitar's are tuned to 'E'...aka standard tuning DA? da, is russian for yes....I often mix languages, don't mind me.

So, each time I go to youtube 10 times out of 10 I'm not in tune with any guitar there. So y'day I tuned my acoustic down from E to Eb and voila, I'm in tune....Sooooooooo...what's the reason for this??? why am I not in tune with any video on youtube with standard guitar tuning?

anyone else experienced this? thx in advance!

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Are you using an electric tuner? a tuning fork?

User Info Menu

The video on YouTube is not in tune?

User Info Menu

By way of testing, there are youtube post that play notes for tuning. If they say they're in E and you still have to play an Eb to match, then maybe the problem is at their end...

User Info Menu

Do you have your tuner set in 440 or higher?

User Info Menu

It's not uncommon for a guitarist to merely tune the guitar to itself rather than to an external reference pitch if they're not going to be playing with another instrumentalist. In other words, whatever the actual pitch of the low E string, the rest of the guitar gets tuned to that...

Also, tuning each string a semitone flat is extremely common i.e. Eb Ab Db Gb Bb Eb

I think initially the reason for this was because it made the relatively heavy strings easier to bend, but now with lighter and better quality strings, it's just a thing people do.

User Info Menu

Yeah, I wonder if your tuner is calibrated at something other than 440....

I know I'm not tuned down in any of my recent videos...try one out--are you in or out with me? I'm playing lots of open strings and stuff in this one...do they match up?

Otherwise, you must me listening to a lot of Stevie Ray Vaughanabees.