The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 136

User Info Menu

I've been performing regularly for twenty years in small venues with small groups - usually without drums.

I get the feeling from browsing here that people are very unclear about the value of high end archtops. One of the things that confuses everyone is the whole historic thing. The question of the worth of a guitar gets mixed up with questions about history and historic value. As a musician I have absolutely no interest in the fact that Wes played an L 5 (and a 175) or that Jim Hall played a D'Aquisto (and a 175) etc. I want a guitar that functions properly - and that is very hard to find - and I want a guitar that sounds and feels good. I won't go into what that amounts to.

My point is this. I recently made the transition from a Sadowsky Jim Hall - which as everyone rightly says - is an incredibly high-functioning instrument - to handmade archtops. There is absolutely no comparison from a musical point of view. The Sadowsky is like a plank compared to a Comins a Campellone or an Andersen (etc.). It is meant to be of course. The whole point of that guitar is to resist feedback, and it does that (better than any 175 old or new that I have ever played) by being a bit of a plank. I got to the point where I just was not prepared to make the musical sacrifice of playing something so acoustically dead in order to get the feedback monkey off my back.