The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

View Poll Results: Jazz guitarists do you prefer sold body or hollow body?

Voters
514. You may not vote on this poll
  • I prefer solid body

81 15.76%
  • I prefer hollow body

433 84.24%
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 168

User Info Menu

I'm new to jazz guitar. I prefer solid body electric guitars. I'm curious about how many jazz guitarists prefer solid body to hollow body.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

That depends. If I am going just around the corner or in my own car and can carry my guitar myself, the sound level is reasonable and the venue is peaceful, I'd take a hollow body. If I'm going to another continent by airline and have to change plane four times and there's no way of taking the guitar as hand luggage, I'd bring the solid body.

User Info Menu

For straight ahead jazz, I prefer a hollow body. But I have a fully hollow, a semi-hollow, and a solid body. I use and love all three.

I have a few solidbodies (mostly strats), but I also have semis and full hollowbodied guitars. I tried to get guitars with examples of most of the pickups available, so I have strat single coils, a couple of P90-equipped guitars, a tele, humbuckers, a guitar with a floating humbucker etc. Right now, I find myself drawn towards the warm tone of a full hollowbody archtop with humbuckers. I usually roll the tone off, and its heavenly...

I guess I'm of the "a different guitar for each different tone in your head" school of thought...

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by Tom Karol
    For straight ahead jazz, I prefer a hollow body. But I have a fully hollow, a semi-hollow, and a solid body. I use and love all three.
    I could have typed my own post, but Tom sums up my feelings exactly.

User Info Menu