The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 49

User Info Menu

Hi, first post in this forum for me.

I'm a bit curious on all the love for Roland Cubes around here. In other forums such as thegearpage many complain about the COSM modeling compared to other manufacturers more recent modeling offers. Perhaps it is the more high-gain models that get the most flames, though. I own a Microcube which is really handy to have around the living room. I like its Vox model a lot. I have no experience on the bigger recent models.

Also, the Cubes have been around since the 70's I believe. I have an old orange tolex Cube 60 , which is made somewhere between 1979 and 1984. I think it sounds rather good and gets plenty loud. Are people here using these old ones for jazz or is it mostly the newer modeling versions that get people so excited around here?

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by krueger
    Hi, first post in this forum for me.

I'm a bit curious on all the love for Roland Cubes around here. In other forums such as thegearpage many complain about the COSM modeling compared to other manufacturers more recent modeling.
    Therein lies the difference, methinks. For the jazzers, it's the quality of the clean channel that's attractive at the price/weight point occupied by the Cubes. I'm sure there are many others like me who've hardly ever even tried the modeling effects of their Cubie.

User Info Menu

Yep, this is a jazz board...we like clean...solid state does great clean.

The rock cats who dig the sound of their amp malfunctioning are after something different

User Info Menu

Indeed. For me it is the combination of:

- Plenty o' clean headroom at low weight, low cost, tough box.
    - Decent balance and enough EQ to deal with most situations.

The only "modeling" I even think about is the "Deluxe" on occasion vs. JC most of the time.