The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 19 of 19

User Info Menu

This is inspired by a couple of things. First the thread that asks for the best places near NY. (Although I'm not from Denmark!) Also, I went to the Guitar Center in Natick, MA and there just wasn't that many archtop brands to check out. I'm a total newb and I'm still trying to understand what feels right to me.

So, I'd love to find a place relatively close by that I can check out a range of different brands and model. I'm sure I can find all the music stores around, but if someone knew of a place that had a good selection of archtops in particular that would be much appreciated!

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Well, there's The Music Emporium on Mass. Ave in Lexington. Awesome array of high end new and used stuff, but they're also a dealer for Eastman, Godin, and The Loar.

User Info Menu

Like Tom says.

But "archtop" covers a lot of territory. GC Boston may have an Epi Joe Pass or something. Also, there is (or was) an Eastman Dealer on Mass Ave in Cambridge with good stock.

Also a couple of places in Connecticut.

To be crass: Are you looking for a $600 guitar or a $2,000 plus?

Chris

User Info Menu

Thanks, Tom. I was hoping that you would reply since I saw that you just picked up a guitar in Portland, ME. I have been to Music Emporium before, but wasn't looking for this style of guitar at the time. It struck me as a good place to pick up a high quality instrument. Thanks for reminding me of this place.

PT - I don't thing that it is crass to identify my budget, but I'm afraid that my response is a little crass because I would say my budget i somewhere between $200 and $1200, which I realize is quite a range.