The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 36

User Info Menu

Hello Everyone,

I'm new to tube amps but have started checking them out. The solid state amps I've used all have an XLR out to go to the board. Tube amps seem to either not have an out, or have only a 1/4" jack out. I realize that generally tube amps are recorded (or sent to the house) with mics. What is going on here that makes this the case?

Thanks for any insights.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by Rustic
    Hello Everyone,

I'm new to tube amps but have started checking them out. The solid state amps I've used all have an XLR out to go to the board. Tube amps seem to either not have an out, or have only a 1/4" jack out. I realize that generally tube amps are recorded (or sent to the house) with mics. What is going on here that makes this the case?

Thanks for any insights.
    It's just down to the design, All amps could have XLR outs.

Check the link,

Products - TubeMeister 18 Head - Hughes & Kettner

User Info Menu

Here's another but it has been dropped by peavey.

Peavey :: Windsor Studio

It seems that manufacturers have noted that a lot of guitarists are recording digitally so these smaller wattage amps are produced for studio recording.

User Info Menu

If the amp has a line level out could you use a direct box to convert it to mic level and impedance for a PA?

User Info Menu

Yep, click the link.
    Hughes and Kettner Red Box are one of the best DI boxes.

Products - Red Box Classic - Hughes & Kettner

User Info Menu

I've had quite a few ss amps and none ever had an xlr out. I don't think it's all that common for any guitar amp.

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by robertm2000
    If the amp has a line level out could you use a direct box to convert it to mic level and impedance for a PA?