The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 150

User Info Menu

Hi all,

I'm looking to get into an archtop and have been looking at the Eastman AR810CE. If anyone has experience playing this model, or even Eastmans in general. I'm wondering:

-Have you been happy with the sound, fit and finish? Has it held up well?

-Any recent problems with the tailpiece? I know there was a thread on the forum a little while ago and a couple of members had had issues, I'm hoping Eastman has fixed this.

I've been playing jazz guitar for 15 years, but this would be my first archtop (I'm settled on getting an archtop, just narrowing it down now). Thanks for any input from members who've played this box.

Eastman AR810CE-eastman-ar810ce-jpg

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

In my opinion, the Eastmans varied quite a bit from one to the next for the first year+, both in terms of fit/finish and sound. But after that (say later '06 and after) things smoothed out quite a bit.

I like the AR810 and 805 quite a bit.

The lacquer is traditional nitro without a lot of additives to make it more flexible. So you might have some checking around the neck joint after a season or two - just like on any other lacquer finished instrument.

The tailpiece is old stuff from when they first got into the guitar business. I have not heard that it is a current issue at all.

I suggest giving the 805 a good ride as well. Great sound from this very comfortable 16" size.

User Info Menu

I'm a fan of Eastmans and think they're exceptional guitars for the money. Below is a link of a 'for sale' video I made with an 810. The video may give you some impression of the instrument. The first part is consists of its acoustic sound and the second part is a recording of it amplified using a ZT Lunchbox and an RV3 reverb pedal.