The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 56

User Info Menu

I’m new to the world of learning jazz guitar, though I have many years of playing acoustics, mostly Martin flattops. I’m currently playing an Eastman Jazz Elite from Guitars ‘n Jazz. Very nice guitar, which should keep me satisfied for many years, but as we know the hunting and acquiring of guitars can be something of a disease. I don’t come across many ES-175s so I have very little experience of what they feel like in my hands. I recently tried an ES-165, the single fixed variety (not the floater), and was surprised at how it felt in my hands. I didn’t like it. It felt very heavy. It could be that I was distracted by other activity that was going on in the store at the same time, and/or by the frets on the ES-165 which seemed way too high to me.

From what I read, the ES-165 is really the same as a single-pickup ES-175. I’ve also read that newer 175s are generally heavier than older ones. I’m curious, for those of you that may have played a variety of both old and new – are the older ones typically much lighter in weight? By “older” I mean 1950s or 60s. I know this is only one aspect of what makes a guitar feel right, and every guitar is different, and it’s somewhat subjective, but I’m still curious to hear from others.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

I've never thought of any archtop as heavy. Ever pick up a Les Paul?

User Info Menu

The older 1950s versions are NOTICABLY lighter.

User Info Menu

I don't like heavy guitars either. I've sold a few really nice ones because of weight. My Ibanez AFS75T, at around 6 lbs., is about right. My cousin's '57 ES-175 is very light.

User Info Menu