The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 25 of 25

User Info Menu

Just bought my 1st electric - an Eastman AR805 CE.

Now I need an amp for home use only,
    - would like to stay under $500 ( used is preferred )

- I'm new at this and just learning the vocabulary,
    but I'll try to describe the TONE I want

* warm, clear (is that the same thing as 'clean' ?)
    * full (is that the same as 'fat' ?
    * rich, lush, mellow, sweet - (same as creamy ?)

I bought the Eastman because I think it will give me that TONE
    and I need an amp to match.

I'm teaching myself to play solo finger style (by watching training videos etc).

The type of songs I'm learning are classic top 10 hits from the
    60s and 70s, Christmas songs and Church songs and a few odds and ends.

I"m a mellow fellow and was ' born to be mild '
    So I'm looking for an amp to match.

Some suggestions I've had are
    - Fender Blues Junior
    - Carvin Vintage 16
    - Vox Pathfinder 15R
    - LIne 6 Spider III
    - Roland Cube

Thanks for any help guys !

- Larry

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

I think for that guitar, I would probably gravitate toward an acoustic amp, rather than the ones listed. Lots of brands like Roland, Crate, Fishman, Fender, etc.

If you are playing a very acoustic sounding archtop, and want to go mellow, I would think an acoustic amp might work better for you. Take the Eastman into a couple of shops, and try out as many types of amps as you can. Happy hunting.

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by BigDaddyLoveHandles
    Used Polytone Mini Brute. ...
    that's exactly what i was gonna say! that's what i have (in addition to my little gallien-krueger bass amp, which also sounds great).

User Info Menu