The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 21 of 21

User Info Menu

Was just wondering if anyone owns or is familiar with this guitar? I believe it was made in the middle 70's It's an archtop style guitar. I've seen one photo of it.

Thanks

Michael

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Seeing pics of it online, it looks like a knock off of the Gibson, then Ephipone versions of the HR. A laminated archtop with oval hole and floater in the neck. Some had set buckers in the bridge. A number of makers have produced a version of this guitar. Always a bit funky, but wonderful design.

I have no experience with the Electra version, sorry.

User Info Menu

I've seen photos too. Back in 74 Sam Ash sold a version under the Carlos Ribelli label or some such name. Probably Japanese or Korean and sounded fine for the money. I've played other Electra models and they were decent guitars

User Info Menu

I don't know much about the Electra HR guitar. I've seen a few in music stores during my travels. I own an Aria Pro II PE-185 that was MIJ in 1979. Very few were made and it's a very fine instrument. I bought it new in 1980.
    Attached Images Attached Images Electra "Howard Roberts" model guitar-mvc-001e-jpg 

User Info Menu

Very nice monk.

You know, there really are a lot of people with oval hole guitars.

User Info Menu

Not the droid you're looking for, but I can across this cool image of the Epi version:

While oval-hole archtops are less common, so are full-sized floating humbuckers, come to think of it!

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by BigDaddyLoveHandles
    Not the droid you're looking for, but I can across this cool image of the Epi version:

While oval-hole archtops are less common, so are full-sized floating humbuckers, come to think of it!
    That's a Gibby and looks just like my '74 HR. --the Epis were made in the 60s

User Info Menu

This may be one of the rare cases where Gibson copied Epiphone: