The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 58

User Info Menu

I have been working through books and online lessons, wondered on peoples experiences with a teacher compared to self taught.

What are the pros of having a good guitar teacher and cons if any?

Any recommended online guitar teachers here in the uk?

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

My opinion is that studying with a good teacher is essential. I don't think you can really get to where you want to be just dicking around on your own. Online is great because you can find a teacher who is really qualified to masterful.

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by Maaj12
    I have been working through books and online lessons
    But can you do 'So What' yet? After all that!

Quote Originally Posted by ragman1
    But can you do 'So What' yet? After all that!
    lol, yes..... kind of

But playing Pat Martino activities over Dm7 and Ebm7 might get a bit tiresome, realised I need some more jazz language.

User Info Menu

I should think endless streams of eighths, if that's what you mean by Martino, would be extremely tedious. The better players tend to keep it sparse but make very good use of the notes.

But I'm not sure he did So What, I think it was only Impressions, and then very fast.

Out of curiosity, which were you doing? So What at 130 -135 or Impressions at 100mph? :-)

User Info Menu

I have been working through books and online lessons, wondered on peoples experiences with a teacher compared to self taught.

What are the pros of having a good guitar teacher and cons if any?

Any recommended online guitar teachers here in the uk?
    sent you a message a minute ago

User Info Menu

Be careful though, many private teachers have mastered how to make it look like they are teaching you something valuable while they are really phoning it in. Also many don't have a clear pedagogical method for teaching jazz improvisation.