The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 11 of 11

User Info Menu

Hello all,

I’ve been playing playing classical guitar for 40 years. I have studied for 11 years in the conservatory. I have bern playing early plucked instruments and I’m very used to play from tabs. Now starting to learn some jazz and improvise. I’m left handed (and this is an relevant question in this reflection).

I have some good books for my instruction but the books with tabs and fretboards diagrams have two issues to my opinion:

1) You don’t know as clearly as the score the notes you play.
    2) The diagrams are written for right handed players. I’m “traslating” all the visual concepts for a left handed guitar player. This is time consumer.

But the visual approach in this books is good for quick memorizing and start to improvising easily.

The score based stuff has pros and cons too:

You know better the notes you play. Then you increase your music theory training, your ear training and the fretboard knowlement.

But you loose the visual facility and memorization

I’m working with Bobby Fisher method (visual and tab oriented) and with Aebersold (score oriented). And this is my daily war. Just a reflection. Thank you for reading.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Interesting. I’m not sure I have any direct advice regarding this. I learned very much as a ‘shapes’ player and got into reading later, and I’m thinking a classical player going into jazz may have a different way of looking at things.

I do feel traditional bop jazz guitar is quite a lot about moveable figures and ideas you can move up and down the fretboard and across the strings.

User Info Menu

early plucked instruments and I’m very used to play from tabs
    Does that mean lute family instruments and other stringed instruments in different tunings? If you frequently change between tunings, then tablature makes a lot of sense to me, compared to standard notation.