The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 46

User Info Menu

Hey!

I have a student that so far has been mostly self-taught.
    He has good voice and good intonation. Understands, sings and plays(guitar) syncopated rhythm nicely. Not at professional level but completely workable.
    Has decent "pulse" feel - keeps the time.
    But has almost no sense of the metre - always hesitates when he should start to sing or start to play.

So far we've done counting "1 2 3 4" when playing something. Tapping on 2 and 4 when singing (that has helped a bit).
    Sing the melody while playing a chord simply on 1 - so hard for him.
    .. what else. Counting "1 2 3 4" while listening some tricky songs.
    Tapping "1 2 3 4" with left hand, tapping the rhythm of choice with the other - insanely hard.
    Counting loudly the metre beats on the rests when singing a melody. Has helped.
    But it hasn't been enough.

So. Good understanding of rhythms (with syncopation) and able to sing and play them, decent pulse, no meter.

What else to try? I'm running out of ideas here.

If you can solve this.. know that you helped someone a lot!

Thanks in advance.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Here’s what worked for me.

Get a metronome on 2 and 4. Have the student strum a blues.

Then have them play a simple melody over the 2,4 metronome. (C Jam Blues comes to mind).

go slow, painfully slow for you is probably too fast for them. It sounds like they are missing fundamental skills so you have to correct a lifetime of bad habits and this means slow “boring” practice.

That’s what I tell myself anyway.

The problem does seem simple but it is as described:
    good understanding of rhythm, fine pulse. No meter. Keep that in mind.

We have already done metronome. On 1, 3. On 2, 4.

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by emanresu
    Hey!

Has decent "pulse" feel - keeps the time.