The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 31

User Info Menu

Hello everybody.
    I've been playing guitar for many years, since I was 14, now I'm 59. I've always studied in a completely disorderly way. I have several books, courses on the internet and etc... Now I'm thinking of trying to organize my thoughts about jazz guitar.
    One way to achieve this would be to take an organized course.
    Can anyone recommend an online platform that offers a step-by-step jazz guitar course? I know about Berklee OnLine, but it's completely out of my budget!
    Thank you very much!

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Did you work through the free stuff on this website yet? That’s as good a place as any to start.

A horrible place to start is YouTube or following random advice here.

User Info Menu

Here are a couple of ideas possibly worth exploring:

Steve Crowell's SDM series:

Steven Crowell Tab Books - Guitar Solos, Instruction DVDs + Video Lessons

Robert Conti - everything:

Product Categories • RobertConti.com

Barry Greene - Jazz Guitar 101, Stepping Stones:

Browse - Barry Greene Video Lessons

Tony

User Info Menu

This website for starters but I would also recommend joining Frank Vignola's Jazz Studio on the Truefire website. Link below.

Frank Vignola's Jazz Studio - Channels - TrueFire

User Info Menu

OMG! Original poster this thread is the best way to screw up your progress before you've even started!

Enough people are going to respond with all sorts of conflicting advice and send your head in a right old spin!

My starting point ( eventually after all kinds of false starts ) was this website. This pdf:
    https://www.jazzguitar.be/blog/jazz-...for-beginners/

I think it takes u literally the quickest route to comping and improvising standards.

Some people on here will say it cuts corners and you need to learn to sight read, play in all 12 keys or whatever.