The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 28

User Info Menu

Hello, This is my first message on the forum, although I have been reading you for a few months.

I am a conservatory-trained guitarist with several decades of semi-professional experience. I have a good foundation of classical technique, harmony, chords, sight reading, composition, etc. But my weak point is improvisation, and I want to introduce some improvisation in the jazz and bossa nova repertoire that I play in my solo guitar gigs and when I play with a singer.

A couple of months ago I started to study jazz with the book "Jazz Theory Resources" by Bert Ligon, which I think is fantastic. I also bought "The Complete Jazz Guitar Method" by Jody Fisher, and I'm following it step by step, but there are things that don't fit me: weird chords and very difficult fingerings, which are presented in inversions, while there are other alternatives with the fundamental in the bass that do not appear. I'm also not playing the chords studies, I'm skipping them. The problem is memorizing so much material and not seeing the practical sense yet. I'm a bit lost with this method and would appreciate some advice from someone who has worked with it.

Thank you very much and greetings!

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

All improv is using the harmonic framework to sequence short and long motifs.

The basic material you have for this are:

scales
    arps
    intervals
    licks
    patterns
    the melody

Books can be rough. With your background, you should be able to jump right into improv. Youtube is a better resource, just type in whatever topic you're working on. Also, you can't go wrong with a teacher. Studying with a good jazz musician is really invaluable.

This is a good example of the process how you can go from the raw material to something that's starting to sound musical:

Quote Originally Posted by Jimmy Smith