The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 100

User Info Menu

I've started a youtube channel devoted to Mickey Baker's book, with videos of me playing the lessons acoustically on my Vintage Sultan guitar. I had this book when I was 14 but never understood it, and finally went on to Muddy Waters instead. I am doing these videos because there might be another 14 year-old kid out there who is struggling with this book, a book which is arguably the most influential of all jazz guitar tutors. It was used by Jimi Hendrix and Pat Metheny, and countless others.

There are lots of ways to play the lessons, and my videos just give a snapshot of how I played them today.

The channel is YouTube - Kanaal van jazzguitarrob

Here is a short video of lesson eight:

I'm not a pro jazz player by any means, but I do play and teach jazz to some of my students, and I think this book still has something to offer a new generation. Even though there have been thousands of jazz guitar books published since the 1950s, this one is still regarded very warmly by many players. Most of you on this site are probably well beyond the level of this book, but I still find interesting things in it.

Tomorrow I hope to video some of the single-note soloing lessons.

Rob

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Nice work, Rob. I'm sure lots of newer players will find those videos useful for getting past the intimidation factor. It's great material, but the old books are a little scary if you don't have any background.

Cheers!

User Info Menu

BTW, I just checked out the videos on your Rob MacKillop Website site. Outstanding! I'll be spending more time there! Good stuff!

User Info Menu

2nd attempt to embed a video:

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by Rob MacKillop