The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

I've been playing guitar for many years but am new to jazz. I'm going through The Beginner's Guide to Jazz that I got from this website. Some of the chords are new to me (the voicings). The tab will shows the notes but I'm not sure if which fingers to use and how to position my hand. Is there a website or some other resource available for this task? I have an app called Oolimo which is good for a lot of things but it doesn't do that.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

I think most of us have strategies, both mechanical and organizational, toward the fingering of chords with the goal of providing some basic features. For starters, here are a couple of things:

Long term avoidance of hand problems
    - keeping the fingers curved
    - keeping the fingers close to their natural form (no reverse-bent knuckles)
    - formal guidelines may be instructive
    - - ordering the lay of the fingers (along the neck, across the neck)
    - - - - generally along the neck, fingers 1-4 going up the neck
    - - - - generally across the neck, fingers 1-4 or 4-1 (trying to limit fingering crossed frets or crossed strings)
    - - - - choosing whatever keeps the wrist straight

Flexibility of access to sounding extensions and alterations
    - using basic forms for maj, min, and 7th chord tones
    - making those forms so that adding extensions or alterations can apply easily to the basic forms

Speed support
    - using chord fingerings that have the same basic shape of the hand and wrist
    - avoiding as much as possible chord fingering that require unusual hand or wrist orientation