The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 33

User Info Menu

Hi. Since I am a beginner I hope to don`t make a very obvious or silly question. For example I think I was playing at 120 bpm. How do I count this. I set the metronome to 120 and play 8 notes per each bar 4/4 or 4 notes per each bar 4/4? How would be the right 120 bpm . How do you count this normally?

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Tap quarter notes and match it up with a metronome.

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by Marlot
    Hi. Since I am a beginner I hope to don`t make a very obvious or silly question. For example I think I was playing at 120 bpm. How do I count this. I set the metronome to 120 and play 8 notes per each bar 4/4 or 4 notes per each bar 4/4? How would be the right 120 bpm . How do you count this normally?

Mr. B has the skinny.

User Info Menu

4/4 time means the quarter note takes the beat.
    So in 4/4 time 120 BPM is two beats per second,
    so two quarter notes per second, and 4 sec bars.
    This is only the song's pace, not a playing speed.

A possible confusion is that in the Jazz world, the
    BPM is also used to express how fast single notes
    are played. In this case those single notes are set
    as eighth notes. That means playing speed is just
    standardized on eighth notes when someone says
    "I play this at 120 BPM"; they are saying the note
    speed is streaming at 4 notes per second, though
    this is 2 beats per second, it's just notes vs beats.

Quote Originally Posted by pauln

speed is streaming at 4 notes per second, though
    So basically to play 120 i put muy metronome at 120 and enable eighteen instead of quarter. And match eighteen notes instead of quarter?

User Info Menu

So basically to play 120 i put muy metronome at 120 and enable eighteen instead of quarter. And match eighteen notes instead of quarter?
    Yes.