The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

First I am fairly new to the forum and I have gained much from reading the posts. A little background for context. I have played the guitar for over 30 years off and on. I staretd at a young age with formal lessons first with a teacher learning from the mel bay guitar books. Then I started studying classical guitar at the age of 13 at a local university. I actually went to the University and attended as a music performance major for two years but I became discouraged with this for several reasons. Two of the main reasons were that I was to immature and did not have any good mentors and I had no ear training at all and a really lousy ear at that so I failed terribly in solfege and transcription.

I really became discouraged and thought I did not have what it took to make music my career. During these formative years I also played and was self taught on rock, metal and blues genres again with the discouragnmet of not having any ear training or understanding of how to gain that skill. I could never figure things out from records very well. Because of my classical training I had great techincal ability and can sight read very well and I know the fretboard as it relates to where all the notes are. My understanding of theory was basic but I have enough to build on that and the theory part of learning jazz is going well.

I have continued to play/doodle off and on for about 30 years. In this time I have gone a few years without touching a guitar but I have never went any of this time without owning one. During this time I was never consistent in playing genres or really trying to develop mainly because of life and family commitments.