The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 22 of 22
    I'm sure this has been asked, so my apologies if I annoy anyone.

If one had to choose between books that teach concepts with more generic, cliche examples or books of transcriptions of great recordings that are light on the how or why, which would you choose?

I use both, though I feel I may be getting too bored with the more methodical approach.

These approaches are two sides of the same coin, for sure, but when I'm studying one way I wonder if I should be studying the other. Is there a support group out there for me?

What has ben your experience? Maybe I should just soldier through, this way and then that.

Maybe there are books that successfully leverage each approach, just none of mine.

Does one graduate from the methodical to the actual? At what point? Ugh.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

I'd use books for the generic stuff and ears for the transcriptions.

User Info Menu

Use both. They're both helpful. Methodology gives you general ideas, the written out stuff gives you examples put into action. It's easier to remember methodology but you can learn from the transcriptions also, particularly if you break them into small bits for licks, ideas, or to even draw points from. No, you don't graduate from methodology. I've been playing jazz for almost 20 years and my teacher talks methodology with me all the time. However, I try to integrate the methodology with the aural. My lessons are recorded so when I'm practicing, I will watch the lesson and focus on a methodology concept and then also try to focus on how he played it to match the sound or integrate an actual lick in cases.

Quote Originally Posted by mr. beaumont
    I'd use books for the generic stuff and ears for the transcriptions.