The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Hey all!

I have made the decision to try out for my schools Advanced Jazz Band. I currently play Trombone in the Intermediate Band. I am completely self taught on the guitar so, chords are not my strong-suit.

Any suggestions on what I should work on if I already have a basic grasp on the guitar? I Auditions are in May so, wish me luck. Thanks for any feedback.

Have yourselves the best day!

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Welcome Ares. Happy to read that you are starting to play guitar is your schools Advanced Jazz Band. Contrary to playing notes on your trombone, be it as a soloist or playing backgrounds, if you play guitar in a jazz band, you are a part of the rythm section next to the bass, drums and piano. 90-95 percent of the time, you are supposed to comp (ie playing chords) while someone else has the lead.
    Comping is rather complex and you will learm soon enouh ones you passed the audition.
    My advise would be: learn how to play "shell chords" of the major and minor chords. Shell chords are most 3 note chords on the 3rd. 4th and 6th string. That alone will be challanging enough.
    I hope you will succeed in what you aim for.

User Info Menu

Post six

Struggling with an arrangement

if you know what tunes they are auditioning with let us know.

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by Ares Renrut

...chords are not my strong-suit.
    Work on that for sure!

User Info Menu

In the rhythm section, your job is to create a SOLID feeling of time, so always keep in mind your confidence must be infectious.
    Metronome. A metronome will test the relationship of your hands to the fingerboard. In other words it will keep you honest if you're not making it. Keep the roots of your chords really clear (don't think fancy or give in to the urge to be anything other than be clear and strong.)