The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 29

User Info Menu

Hello,

I'm new to the guitar and to playing music in general.
    I listen to jazz a lot and always wanted to learn an instrument

Does it make sense for a complete guitar beginner to start with jazz?
    Or do I need to learn pop or classical first to get a grasp of the basics?

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Get a teacher and you’ll be fine.

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by GregMil
    Hello,

User Info Menu

Everyone was once a beginner. Different learning curve and priority parameters. Pop and classical may be useful for proficiency skills but as Al Al says, a good teacher can help you realistically assess the skillset needed and it's just a matter of deciding whether you want to put in the work.
    Jazz assumes you have a myriad of skills before you can comfortably interpret and create the improvisational meat and potatoes of the genre.
    In jazz, your ear guides you through the territory that written and rote familiarization and memorization can take you through in other genres.

You can do it if you want. It's very satisfying and the return on your effort is immeasurable.
    Welcome! (As citizen74 says so well!)

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by Jimmy blue note
    Everyone was once a beginner. Different learning curve and priority parameters. Pop and classical may be useful for proficiency skills but as Al Al says, a good teacher can help you realistically assess the skillset needed and it's just a matter of deciding whether you want to put in the work.
    Jazz assumes you have a myriad of skills before you can comfortably interpret and create the improvisational meat and potatoes of the genre.
    In jazz, your ear guides you through the territory that written and rote familiarization and memorization can take you through in other genres.