The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

I've played guitar for quite a long time, but I'm fairly new to jazz guitar and I've been learning independently for around 4 months now. My progress feels very sporadic, especially since I feel like I have ADHD with the overload of unorganized content online. I was wondering what everyone thinks of 1-on-1 online lessons? Unfortunately there are no jazz teachers where I live, so this is my best option.

Does anyone know where I could find a good teacher online?

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Well, who do you like? There's a good chance they offer online lessons.

I did online lessons and they went well. I also did an online masterclass led by Mimi Fox through the California Jazz Conservatory. https://cjc.edu/

That might be a good way for you to get your feet wet and see if online lessons are your thing before committing 8 weeks to an instructor.

Or you could also buy the Mickey Baker book and go through it alone, that'll keep you busy for a year.

I found it was best to keep YouTube for entertainment instead of education. You'll end up with a desk full of printed lessons and exercises and an overwhelming sense of dread.

User Info Menu

Thanks to this forum I learned about Tru Fire and Frank Vignola. He is over the top great. I went with an unlimited yearly, shop the deals and get a 99$ special. Frank also has a channel thru trufire and with that you get a certain amount of private lesson time with him. I have also used the lessons that are here on the forum blog. You may even get some offers from folks here. This forum has some exceptional players and teachers. I agree with AllanAllan, leave Youtube for entertainment. Good luck and welcome

User Info Menu

I'll 2nd Frank Vignola and his TrueFire channel. He strips things down to the very basics and has you build from there, encouraging you to get creative with what you have learned.

User Info Menu

Welcome to the Forum!