The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 23 of 23

User Info Menu

Think this one fits best in the getting started forum:

I have roughly 1,5 years of jazz guitar experience in total, but during Covid, I played 3-4 hours a day. I've played in a combo for a year, recently started my own quintet, attended a week long jazz camp twice and keep playing as much as I can.

Next week a new combo starts, actually it's the same combo that I played with twice 2,5 years ago (in between I had 1 non-jazz year due to other band). Back then, it was way above my level. I thought I'd be ready to join again, but I'm having some second thoughts. It's a vocal combo where a couple of vocalists take turn. I'm in the rhythm section with drummer (band leader), base player and piano (hmmmm).

So here's the thing: they play two songs per person, which means having to learn 8 new songs per week. For my quintet I prepare my songs until I know them by heart with all the variations in comping that I can come up with. If I play a solo, I thoroughly study possible lines and licks. I spend hours and hours and I like that. With that new combo, that would be impossible, which means I'll struggle through the songs. Also, there's a lot of balads, which I tend to avoid in my own quintet. Then there's the pianist...whom I will sometimes really need, but who will also take away some of my comping options.

Usually I say with anything that comes along: if I can't do it right, I'd rather not do it at all. But I know there's not really a 'right' here. Also I know that most of you will say that I should join the combo, because it will be a great opportunity to learn how to comp 'a vue', change keys because the vocalist can't sing it, all these things you'd encounter on a jam. But working on so may songs stresses me out to be honest. Yesterday I thought it's not going to work. Today, the songs seem a little easier already.

Maybe you can help me with your collective wisdom