The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 29
    Total newbie to Jazz guitar. But I am not new to guitar playing (rock, metal).

What should I learn first ? The internet is giving me random ideas and so many ppl talking different things and I am overwhelmed.

Help !

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Chords and arpeggios, and tunes. Try to learn as much as you can by ear as possible. Push yourself to hear it.

Listen to as much jazz as humanly possible.

But learn tunes. Try to learn the melodies by ear if you can. Jazz is music first, not technique, not theory. Music.

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by jazznoob_2021

What should I learn first ? The internet is giving me random ideas and so many ppl talking different things and I am overwhelmed.

Help !
    You've made an excellent first step by joining this forum, where a wealth of knowledge awaits you in the form of lessons, tips, and general advice from our (generally) well-informed*membership. Welcome aboard!

* Also handsome

User Info Menu

I agree with Jeff: Listen a lot and learn tunes.

I would only add that having a good teacher can give you a real head start. Find one. They'll help you cut through the clutter of random ideas and focus on what you really need.

User Info Menu

Jens Larsen on YouTube is a great resource. Here is a set of his lessons:

Code:
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5hmSQuMIf-w&list=PLWYuNvZPqqcHcRM5XL8rGFh1Xqkft77Qk
    His lessons are short, well explained, and include notation. Nothing drives me battier than a yakky lesson where the presenter wheedles.

User Info Menu

As someone who relatively recently (in the last ten years) tried to learn "jazz guitar" from a mostly blues background, my advice would be to first define what you want to learn. Like everything in life, there is no one thing called "jazz guitar".