The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 67

User Info Menu

Hey Guys and Gals

So I've been playing guitar a little bit but lacked the direction. I recently started exploring jazz and been trying to learn but a lot of stuff out there has no structure and I don't know where to go next. I did my due diligence and narrowed a lot of the stuff online to just a few. I need recommendations if anyone has tried these and where I should start. I don't mind going through them all in a logical sequence. I don't mind starting simple to build a solid foundation. Ultimately I want to comp and play over changes. The cost is not really an issue once its worth it. The goal is to transition from self taught to getting a teacher when I have a little more under my belt.
    Here are my options and any other suggestions are more than welcome.

Jazz Guitar Roadmap - Jens Larson

The Jazz Guitar Roadmap

Bebop Guitar - Richie Zellon
    Home | Bebop Guitar Improv Series

Jimmy Bruno Guitar Workshop
    Learn Jazz Guitar | Jimmy Bruno Guitar Workshop

Looking forward to every response!

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Hey Cris -- welcome!

Some good programs ... Why "wait," though, to get a teacher?? Find a good one in your area; if none, I recommend Pete Sklaroff (a member here) -- he teaches online, and he's excellent for students of any level!

And have fun!

Marc

User Info Menu

If you can't or don't want to get a teacher yet then apart from the (free) material on this site I'd recommend a subscription of Frank Vignola's Jazz Studio on Truefire. It's currently $ 10.00 / month I think and there's new material added constantly. Material covers basics and up to more advanced stuff and Frank is always available for questions and requests. Good luck!

User Info Menu