The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 21 of 21

User Info Menu

Well, I downloaded a recorder app and gave a few choruses of blues a shot.

I already know I'm an amateur and have a long ways to go, but if you have any constructive criticism I'm open. I basically play off the chord shapes.

11.02.2020 Blues by Allan A | Free Listening on SoundCloud

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Well done, Allan. It takes some courage to let people into your playing. It's a good start, but I think you need to leave some space. It was halfway through before you, as it were, took a breath. The listener needs to breathe too. Try listening more to Miles Davis playing the blues, for instance on Freddie Freeloader. His solo starts at 2:13

Leaving space also allows you time to think ahead...

Also, don't ignore the value of repetition of phrases, maybe with a some alteration. Take Kenny Burrell's "Mule" as an example:

And above all, listen to the phrasing and timing of someone like (what am I saying? there is no one like) Lester Young. Notice how his solo (the second solo - around the 2 minute mark - he rises from his chair to play) COMPLETELY changes the mood. And notice Billie Holliday's reaction while listening to him:

Keep at it!

User Info Menu

I dig how to moved the solo along in a progression that makes sense by using single string solo lines before hitting those double stops at the end. A lot of players just start hot and and have no where to go so their solos just kinda peter out.

User Info Menu

Thanks to you both! I've got to say, I was a little nervous posting anything.

Rob, the examples really help. I've been so focused on all my options and I'm trying to cram them all in to sound jazzy.

User Info Menu

Understood. You are not alone in doing that! Try singing what you are playing - no matter how badly you sing - as then you will at some point need to breathe.

User Info Menu