The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 54

User Info Menu

This is a live clip of Grover and his top flight band doing "Mister Magic". Eric Gale takes a solo at 2:29 and I'm just not feeling it. For me (and I am no expert), it sounds disjointed and kinda start-stop-ish. Gale was clearly a top player and a studio pro that was on the original recording, so he knows the changes. The YouTube comments are glowing about his solo and even Grover looks pretty stoked by it when Gale winds down. Am I missing something? Is there some harmonic or rhythmic content that is going over my head? I'm just wondering what I am missing - if anything.

Grover Washington Jr.
    Eric Gale
    Richard Tee
    Paul Griffin
    Anthony Jackson
    Steve Gadd
    Ralph MacDonald

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Nothing wrong for me. He insists on rhythm and repetitions, with a basic vocabulary that fits the genre of the song.

User Info Menu

1) Music is a subjective thing. Mostly, Eric Gale's playing has just never really done it for me. I have occasionally heard some of his work that I liked, but ... mostly not. What does do it for me is what Drew Zingg might do :-)

2) As for Grover looking stoked, what's he gonna do... give Eric the stink-eye? Some players might, but most would not, as a matter of showmanship as well as professional courtesy.

3) Youtube comments? Really? Like youtube commenters know anything about music? See also point 1)

User Info Menu

Sounds like a jazz guy suddenly asked to play a blues solo on a jazz box with flatwounds.