The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Posts 26 to 39 of 39

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by Phil59
    So you're equating lawyer and guitar teacher? Is that a joke or just wildly pretentious? Plus, your comparison is muddled. It is actually "He who represents himself has a fool for a client." No reference to a lawyer representing himself. More importantly, there are many, many excellent self-taught guitarists. Not too many lawyers.
    Actually I was responding to Sam Sherry's response where he said he was too busy "husband, father and attorney" to take lessons. What do you think the rest of us are doing, twiddling our thumbs? We all have professional and family obligations. If we're talking pretentious, let's start there.

If people want to self study, have a ball. It's when people try and sell this BS that 'there's nothing a teacher can teach me that I can't learn myself' that I reject. I've spent too many years helping self taught adults unlearn their bad habits to buy into that nonsense.

I don't believe anyone is completely self taught. Self taught musicians learn from recordings or books, or from other musicians on the bandstand. It's not divine inspiration.

I love when people say 'there are many, many excellent self taught players." Really? Cause I can only think of a handful. I think that's something people like to say to enhance their reputation. From my direct experience for every self taught genius, there's 100 hacks.

As for self taught lawyers the most famous is Abe Lincoln. But the majority of American lawyers of the 1700-1800's were self taught.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by Dana