The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 48

User Info Menu

Is it better to study a large number of jazz standards (over 100) or concentrate on a few (maybe 20)?
    In the first case, can an amateur (and should?), who practices from half an hour to three hours a day, keep in mind more than a hundred jazz themes.
    And in the second case, can a musician consider himself a jazzman if his repertoire is so limited?

(I am an amateur, playing blues/rockk on stage, but never giving up hopes of going to jazz jam someday).

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

There are different levels of difficulty and you can work with pieces that have a more fundamental harmonic structure (diatonic, not so many secondary dominant chords) and really get to know those pieces, melodically, harmonically, on different parts of the fingerboard and as you get to know them, you'll find out that other pieces have similar attributes. Then introduce yourself to pieces that present individual devices to the lexicon. Get to know pieces like those.
    Ex: Autumn Leaves, the theme from MASH (suicide is painless), The Shadow of Your Smile can make a decent starting point as your first explorations, one at a time so you can really get a lyrical and structural feel for the piece as a whole, and for its component parts.
    Next you might want to explore the idea of Secondary Dominants, or focus on turnarounds. Both very important principles. Find pieces that mix those sounds in and work on them in the same immersive way.
    Train your ear to recognize root movement, for example sing a root as you play a melody, play a root as you sing the melody, etc.