The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 58

User Info Menu

Dear all,

I have been trying to come up with a medium term plan for my practice over the next few months. For context, I am an amateur with a full-time job so practice would consist of, at best, 30 to 60 minutes per day and likely less at times.

Currently on my list:
    1. Working through Leavitt's method, starting from the beginning. I'd like to learn how to read, but I imagine I'll learn more than just this.
    2. Learning and playing over standards. One every few weeks, or whatever, learning the melody and basic harmony, spending time improvising using backing tracks etc.

I imagine these two would be enough to keep me busy. However, Leavitt will probably only pay off in the longer term (and might be a bit boring, at times, in the interim) and trying to play standards, while important, as a beginner can be frustrating.

I have several other books I could make use of. I have a copy of Fisher's jazz method, Fewell's melodic approach and Mickey Baker's books. There's also the internet, of course.

Is there anything you would add as a third stream for my practice?

For the record, one frustration I'd like to address is as follows. When I was a child I played classical violin and most of my time was spent learning pieces of music that were satisfying to play solo. I felt like I was playing music (alone). However, on guitar I don't (yet) have the chops to learn solo guitar arrangements and playing along to backing tracks doesn't give the same solo-music-playing satisfaction. Working towards being able to enjoy playing just by myself, while also working towards being able to play as part of a group would be ideal, but I'm not sure if there is something obvious to add to the mix to achieve this.

That being said, I'd appreciate any suggestions independent of the above.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu