The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 14 of 14

User Info Menu

As a beginner practicing standards I use part of my daily practice time focussing on one standard.

I apply the chords I am practicing and try to record a loop of sections of the song to improvise lead lines. I listen to different recordings and try different ways of playing with the recording or loops.

It's very inspiring and I am improving the way I hoped to. The question and difficulty I have is managing my memory (capacity) and my desire to keep learning and expanding my repertoire of standards (input).

I want to start working on two or three more standards, so I have more to explore and jam with. Maybe as a beginner I am better off learning a standard inside out one by one?

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

a beginner at practicing standards but not at playing the guitar and music, correct?

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by AlexOT
    As a beginner practicing standards I use part of my daily practice time focussing on one standard.

I apply the chords I am practicing and try to record a loop of sections of the song to improvise lead lines. I listen to different recordings and try different ways of playing with the recording or loops.

It's very inspiring and I am improving the way I hoped to. The question and difficulty I have is managing my memory (capacity) and my desire to keep learning and expanding my repertoire of standards (input).

I want to start working on two or three more standards, so I have more to explore and jam with. Maybe as a beginner I am better off learning a standard inside out one by one?
    My guitar teacher used the one-new-standard (song), per week method; I.e. a song that ties to that's weeks lesson.

User Info Menu

The question and difficulty I have is managing my memory (capacity) and my desire to keep learning and expanding my repertoire of standards (input).