The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Posts 26 to 27 of 27

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by JohnRoss
    I've been playing for over thirty years...It's no wonder the original poster is confused with all this invented terminology...Sounds like Greek to me.....How do you then go on to get 3 notes on the 6th string, in C?...This is light years away from traditional theory, unless the meaning of the word 'traditional' has changed as well. But never mind.
    I'll reply in small bites:

You've been playing for over 30 years: Good for you, I've been playing for 20!

Invented terminology: I didn't invent the name of the modes. The Greek names are used in both traditional music theory, and in jazz theory.

Sounds like Greek to you: It is Greek names, and they're used in Western music theory.

How to get 3 notes on the low E-string in the key of C starting from F on the 1st fret:
    - this is pretty simple. The key of C major contains the following notes: C-D-E-F-G-A-B. If you start playing the C major scale on the note F, you'll end up playing these notes: F-G-A-B-C-D-E-F. This is like a major scale, but with a sharp 4th degree, making it F Lydian. If you pay attention you'll notice the notes are still the same as the notes in C major. They're just arranged differently. To reach modern standards of technique many teachers now teach 3-note per string scale patterns, because it makes it easier to play with even technique and faster speed.
    So back to your question: Starting the C major scale on F (lydian mode) on the 1st fret, low E-string with 3-note-per-string patterns, you'll play it this way:

Low E-string:
    1st fret, (F), 1st finger
    3rd fret, (G), 2nd finger
    5th fret, (A), 4th finger

A-string:
    2nd fret, (B), 1st finger
    3rd fret, (C), 2nd finger
    5th fret, (D), 4th finger

D-string:
    2nd fret, (E), 1st finger
    3rd fret, (F), 2nd finger
    5th fret, (G), 4th finger

G-string: