The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 12 of 12

User Info Menu

Hello everybody,

at first I want to excuse for long time not writing but only reading and enjoying this forum.

I started playing guitar at a more mature age and it was for the first time for me to really try to learn playing an Instrument. I started taking lessons with a really good local Pro (Hamburg, Germany). But although i was very committed in practising, it was rather frustrating because i had decided to get into Jazz. You can imagine, that there was lacking success. After a few years i quit the weekly lessons and was working with a huge amount of ressources since then (online courses, books, play alongs etc.). Lately I understood to work mostly on basics, learning to voice progressions and using for example arpeggios or scales with half step rules and the most important: to play in time.

But although it is still fun to practise (and get lost therein), there often are times of frustration because i do not really play music. Now i feel that my main aim is to make music with the guitar, in general that would be alone.

Can someone understand this? How are you approaching this subject "making music"?

All the best
    Felix

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by xilef
    Hello everybody,

at first I want to excuse for long time not writing but only reading and enjoying this forum.