The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 12 of 12

User Info Menu

I remember feeling this same helpless feeling I now have when I was trying to learn bluegrass flatpicking. I'd listen to any number of top notch flatpickers and have this overwhelming (I'll never learn to do this!) lost feeling. Now I have players asking me....."How do you play like that?".....after 10 years of pretty intensive woodshedding.

As I mentioned above, now I have that same overwhelmed and lost feeling I had when I was just a beginning bluegrass flatpicker. Add to that, I play pretty much entirely by ear. I have very little knowledge of music theory. Almost none except for what I've learned recently. I can slowly figure out tab. However, I do have a great ear. I can copy solos and licks and I do have some jazz phrasing down. I can hear jazz phrases in my head and find them on my guitar.

About 15 years ago I was in a swing jazz/jump blues band and I could play pretty believable jazz inflected solos and a few jazz chords. But, like today, I had almost no idea what I was doing, even though it sounded "right".

So, here I am, starting to learn a whole different genre. Perhaps the most challenging genre of all to learn. But I want to do it right. Starting with basic theory to intermediate and advanced playing and theory. But I'm not sure where to start and I need a road map to tell me where to go next?

So far I've learned 17 jazz chords and positions (Grips?). I've started to learn a couple jazz chord melody songs. I was even able to come up with a jazz chord melody version of "How Great Thou Art" totally on my own. I'm in the process of learning "Fly Me To The Moon" from Sandra Sherman on Youtube. I've also been working my way through some of Rick Beato's and Rich Severson's Youtube videos on jazz and music theory. I've almost completed the Chord Theory chapter on JGO.