The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast
Posts 76 to 100 of 103

User Info Menu

The difference between 1 11/16 and 1 12/16 is very small - if the slighty smaller neck width is possible for you, it could be worth considering a used ES-175 or ES-165. Jo Pass got some great sounds out of his playing finger style..... For the amp, if you are into clean-clean Henriksen, Jazz Chorus or Polytone would be high on my list of recomendations

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

I have been playing guitar for 10+ years. I have played classical for several years early on and lately flat top acoustic mostly fingerstyle blues.

I am starting to play jazz, have been doing some work at a beginner level on my acoustics. I decided to buy an electric to properly pursue it and wanted to get some advice.

I went to a local Guitar Center over the weekend to get a feel for different brands. They only had Ibanez and Epiphone and out of those, an Ibanez AF75G (flat black) and an Epiphone 339. I prefer the hollow body, it's lighter and I am more into the sound. The Ibanez was pretty nice and I thought about buying it but I really prefer an ebony fretboard and am willing to spend more than $450 which is what the AF75 cost. So I am looking at the AF95 - actually ordered one but it is still processing so I can probably change it.

I am wondering if I should stay with the AF95 which they have in stock but will take some time to get (due to the pandemic). Or we have an AFC locally which looks nice too. It is $999 so more expensive, but I could swing it. From my understanding Ibanez doesn't make that one anymore. I could probably try to play it this weekend.
    Or a little more is the LGB30 which is $1,099 (not local to me so similar situation to the AF95).